Call for Nominations

Call for Nominations for 2021 Prize, Awards, APS DPP Fellowship, and Executive Committee Elections

Deadline: Thursday, April 1, 2021

A prize or award presented by the American Physical Society (APS) is one of the highest honors a physicist can receive. The Division of Plasma Physics (DPP) annually solicits nominations for an APS prize and several awards.

The nominator does not have to be an APS member. Anyone except a member of the Nominating Committee may submit one nomination or seconding letter for each prize or award in any given year. Self-nominations are not accepted. Specific eligibility criteria are listed on each award page. Nominators who have an active carry-over nomination will receive a reminder email to log in to the nomination system to review and update their nomination as needed. If a nomination is expired, the nominator may submit a new nomination.

Go to the APS Honors page for Prize and Awards and Fellowship Nomination Guidelines.

Go to the APS DPP Prize and Awards Committees page for a list of the Appointed Committee members.

This year nominations are being accepted for the following five committees:

  • James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics
  • John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research
  • Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award
    Note: Nominations for the Rosenbluth Thesis Award will require a copy of the dissertation or the URL address of the dissertation.
  • Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research
  • Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)
Go to the APS DPP Prize and Awards Committees page to review each prize or award nomination and selection process package requirements. Click on this link to review the nomination guidelines for APS Society-level prizes, awards, and dissertation awards eligibility to nominate and eligibility to be nominated.

APS DPP Fellowship

Deadline: Thursday, April 1, 2021

The DPP strives to attain a diverse and global representation of Fellows from all areas of the plasma physics community. Go to the APS Fellowship page to submit a 2021 Fellowship Nomination.

Candidates must be an APS member in good standing at the time of nomination submission. The criterion for election is exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education.

The Fellows of APS should reflect diversity. Nominations of women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists working outside the United States are especially encouraged.

No more than one-half of one percent of the Society’s membership (excluding student members) is recognized by their peers for election to the status of APS Fellow. Candidates must be current members of APS.

Karl Krushelnick, Chair
University of Michigan

DPP Nominating Committee

Division of Plasma Physics members have the opportunity to elect next year’s leadership from a slate of member candidates selected by the DPP Nominating Committee, chaired by Andris Dimits. Those elected will start their terms at the end of the DPP Annual Meeting. Members will elect a Vice-Chair and three Members-at-Large.

How to nominate:

  • The DPP Nominating Committee will consider names submitted by any current APS member.
  • DPP member candidates nominated by at least 1% of DPP membership (28 members) will automatically be placed on the ballot. Each individual nominator must submit a nomination to the Nominating Committee Chair with a copy to the DPP Administrator. Only separate nominations from individual DPP members are accepted. Lists of nominators grouped into a single communication will not be accepted.
  • DPP members will have an opportunity to cast votes online or by mail.
  • Submit your candidate's name and affiliation by Wednesday, April 1 to: