Katherine Weimer Award Past Recipients

2002: Professor Yu Lin, Auburn University
  • For creative and significant contributions to theoretical and computational research in nonlinear physics in the boundary layers of space plasmas.

2005: Dr. Elena Belova, Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
  • For pioneering analytical and numerical contributions to the fundamental physics of magnetically confined plasmas.

2008: Dr. Lin Yin, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • For major contributions to the understanding of instabilities and magnetic reconnection in space plasmas and of the physics of relativistic laser-plasma interactions through complex modeling.

2011: Dr. Yuan Ping, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • For pioneering experiments to explore the interaction of high-intensity laser light with matter, including the demonstration of amplification of ultrashort laser pulses by the resonant Raman scheme.

2014: Professor Anne White, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • For fundamental contributions to the understanding of turbulent transport in tokamaks through development and application of electron cyclotron emission diagnostics and insightful comparison of plasma fluctuations with gyrokinetic simulation predictions.

2017: Dr. Félicie Albert, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • "For pioneering development and characterization of x-ray sources from laser-wakefield accelerators and Compton scattering gamma-ray sources for applications in high energy density science and nuclear resonance fluorescence.”

Dr. Maria Gatu Johnson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • “For significant contributions to Inertial fusion sciences and pioneering work in Stellar Nucleosynthesis through nuclear measurements.”

2021: Dr. Weichao Tu, West Virginia University
  • "For contributions to the understanding of the radiation belts, in particular by pioneering the technique of ‘event-specific’ radiation belt modeling to distinguished different physical processes that control radiation belt dynamics."