Governance

Public Information Committee

The Committee chooses 4-7 summary topics to be featured as DPP General Press Releases. Topics are chosen based on the quality of the write-ups, the scientific quality of the research, newsworthiness of the results, their potential impact upon the general public, and their collective ability to provide a sample of the different areas of plasma physics research.

2021

Fatima Ebrahimi, Chair Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory ebramini@pppl.gov
Carlos Paz-Soldan, Vice Chair General Atomics carlos.pazsoldan@gmail.com
John Canik, Past Chair Oak Ridge National Laboratory canikjm@ornl.gov
Dinise Hinkel Lawrence Livermore National Lab hinkel1@llnl.gov
Jeff Herfindal Oak Ridge National Laboratory herfindalj@fusion.gat.com
Eva Kostadinova Baylor University eva_kostadinova@baylor.edu
Emily Lichko University of Arizona emilylichko@gmail.com
Piero Martin University of Padova, Italy piero.martin@igi.cnr.it
Cameron Samuell General Atomics samuellc@fusion.gat.com
David Schaffner Bryn Mawr College dschaffner@brynmawr.edu

2020

John Canik, Chair

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

canikjm@ornl.gov

Fatima Ebrahimi, Vice Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

ebrahimi@pppl.gov

Ami Dubois, Past Chair

Naval Research Laboratory

ami.dubois@nrl.navy.mil

Michael Brown, Ex Officio

Swarthmore College

mbrown3@swarthmore.edu

Jeff Herfindal

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

herfindalj@fusion.gat.com

Eva Kostadinova

Baylor University

eva_kostadinova@baylor.edu

Emily Lichko

University of Arizona

emilylichko@gmail.com

Piero Martin

University of Padova, Italy

piero.martin@igi.cnr.it

Cameron Samuall

General Atomics

samuellc@fusion.gat.com

David Schnaffner

Bryn Mawr College

dschaffner@brynmawr.edu

2019

Ami Dubois, Chair

Naval Research Laboratory

ami.dubois@nrl.navy.mil

John Canik, Vice Chair

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

canikjm@ornl.gov

Paul Cassak, Past Chair

West Virginia University

paul.cassak@mail.wvu.edu

Ellen Zweibel, Ex Officio

University of Wisconsin

zweibel@astro.wisc.edu

Jeff Herfindal

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

herfindalj@fusion.gat.com

Eva Kostadinova

Baylor University

eva_kostadinova@baylor.edu

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

Jason Myatt

University of Alberta, Canada

myatt@ualberta.ca

David Schnaffner

Bryn Mawr College

dschaffner@brynmawr.edu

2018

Paul Cassak, Chair

West Virginia University

paul.cassak@mail.wvu.edu

Ami Dubois, Vice Chair

Tri-Alpha Energy

amidubois25@gmail.com

Carl Sovinec, Past Chair

University of Wisconsin

csovinec@cae.wisc.edu

David Newman, Ex Officio

University of Alaska

denewman@alaska.edu

John Canik

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

canikjm@ornl.gov

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

Jason Myatt

University of Rochester

jmya@lle.rochester.edu

David Schnaffner

2017

Carl Sovinec, Chair

University of Wisconsin

csovinec@cae.wisc.edu

Paul Cassak, Vice Chair

West Virginia University

paul.cassak@mail.wvu.edu

John Canik

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

canikjm@ornl.gov

John Cary, Exofficio

University of Colorado

cary@colorado.edu

Ami Dubois

Tri-Alpha Energy

amidubois25@gmail.com

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

Jason Myatt

University of Rochester

jmya@lle.rochester.edu

François Waelbroeck, Past Chair

University of Texas

flw@mail.utexas.edu

2016

François Waelbroeck, Chair University of Texas flw@mail.utexas.edu
Carl Sovinec, Vice Chair University of Wisconsin csovinec@cae.wisc.edu
John Canik Oak Ridge National Laboratory canikjm@ornl.gov
Paul Cassak West Virginia University paul.cassak@mail.wvu.edu
Kitta MacPherson Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory kmacpher@pppl.gov
David Maurer Auburn University dam0014@auburn.edu
Jason Myatt University of Rochester jmya@lle.rochester.edu
Earl Scime, Exofficio West Virginia University escime@wvu.edu
Anne White, Past Chair Massachusetts Institute of Technology whitea@mit.edu

2015

Anne White, Chair

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whitea@mit.edu

François Waelbroeck, Vice Chair

University of Texas

flw@mail.utexas.edu

David Hill, Past Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/General Atomics

hilldn@fusion.gat.com

David Meyerhofer, Exofficio

University of Rochester

ddm@lle.rochester.edu

Kitta MacPherson

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

kmacpher@pppl.gov

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

Jason Myatt

University of Rochester

jmya@lle.rochester.edu

Carl Sovinec

University of Wisconsin

csovinec@cae.wisc.edu

Simon Woodruff

Woodruff Scientific, Inc

simon@woodruffscientific.co

2014

David Hill, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/General Atomics

hilldn@fusion.gat.com

Anne White, Vice Chair

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whitea@mit.edu

Riccardo Betti, Exofficio

University of Rochester

betti@me.rochester.edu

Kitta MacPherson

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

kmacpher@pppl.gov

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

Jason Myatt

University of Rochester

jmya@lle.rochester.edu

François Waelbroeck

University of Texas

flw@mail.utexas.edu

Simon Woodruff Woodruff Scientific, Inc simon@woodruffscientific.com

2013

David Hill, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/General Atomics

hilldn@fusion.gat.com

Mark Haynes

Concordia Power

haynes@concordiapower.us

Mark Koepke, Exofficio

 

West Virginia University

mark.koepke@mail.wvu.edu

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

François Waelbroeck

University of Texas

flw@mail.utexas.edu

Anne White

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whitea@psfc.mit.edu

Simon Woodruff

Woodruff Scientific

simon@woodruffscientific.com

2012

David Hill, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/General Atomics

hilldn@fusion.gat.com

William Amatucci

Naval Research Laboratory

amatucci@ccf.nrl.navy.mil

Fred Skiff, Exofficio

 

University of Iowa

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Brett Chapman

University of Wisconsin

bchapman@wisc.edu

Mark Haynes

General Atomics

mark.haynes.ga.com

Robert Kirkwood

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Lin Yin

Los Alamos National Laboratory

lyin@lanl.gov

2011

David Hill, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/General Atomics

hilldn@fusion.gat.com

William Amatucci

Naval Research Laboratory

amatucci@ccf.nrl.navy.mil

Cary Forest, Exofficio

University of Wisconsin

cbforest@wisc.edu

Brett Chapman

University of Wisconsin

bchapman@wisc.edu

Mark Haynes

General Atomics

mark.haynes.ga.com

Robert Kirkwood

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Lin Yin

Los Alamos National Laboratory

lyin@lanl.gov

2010

Earl Scime, Chair

West Virginia University

304-293-3422

escime@wvu.edu

William Amatucci

Naval Research Laboratory

 

amatucci@ccf.nrl.navy.mil

Steven Allen, Exofficio

LLNL/General Atomics

 

allens@fusion.gat.com

Brett Chapman

University of Wisconsin

 

bchapman@wisc.edu

Mark Haynes

General Atomics

 

mark.haynes.ga.com

Robert Kirkwood

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Lin Yin

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

lyin@lanl.gov

2009

Earl Scime, Chair

West Virginia University

304-293-3422

escime@wvu.edu

William Amatucci

Naval Research Laboratory

 

amatucci@ccf.nrl.navy.mil

Thomas Antonsen, Exofficio

University of Maryland

 

antonsen@glue.umd.edu

Brett Chapman

University of Wisconsin

 

bchapman@wisc.edu

Mark Haynes

General Atomics

 

mark.haynes.ga.com

Robert Kirkwood

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Lin Yin

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

lyin@lanl.gov

2008

Fred Skiff, Chair

University of Iowa

319-335-0564

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Amitava Bhattacharjee, Exofficio

University of New Hampshire

 

amitava.bhattacharjee@unh.edu

Richard Hawryluk

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

rhawryluk@pppl.gov

Mark Haynes

General Atomics

 

mark.haynes@ga.com

Robert Kirkwood

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Steve Obenschain

Naval Research Laboratory

 

steveo@this.nrl.navy.mil

Earl Scime

West Virginia University

 

escime@wvu.edu

2007

Jim Van Dam, Chair

University of Texas

512-471-1322

vandam@physics.utexas.edu

Ian Hutchinson, Exofficio

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

hutch@psfc.mit.edu

Tom Cowan

University of Nevada, Reno

 

cowan@physics.unr.edu

Richard Hawryluk

PPPL

 

rhawryluk@pppl.gov

Mark Haynes

General Atomic

 

mark.haynes@ga.com

Steve Obenschain

Naval Research Laboratory

 

steveo@this.nrl.navy.mil

Earl Scime

West Virginia University

 

escime@wvu.edu

Dan Winske

LANL

 

winske@lanl.gov

2006

Jim Van Dam, Chair

University of Texas

512-471-1322

vandam@physics.utexas.edu

Vincent Chan, Exofficio

General Atomics

 

chanv@fusion.gat.com

Tom Cowan

University of Nevada, Reno

 

cowan@physics.unr.edu

Richard Hawryluk

PPPL

 

rhawryluk@pppl.gov

Mark Haynes

General Atomic

 

mark.haynes@ga.com

Steve Obenschain

Naval Research Laboratory

 

steveo@this.nrl.navy.mil

Earl Scime

West Virginia University

 

escime@wvu.edu

Dan Winske

LANL

 

winske@lanl.gov

2005

Jim Van Dam, Chair

University of Texas

512-471-1322

vandam@physics.utexas.edu

Bill Dorland

University of Maryland

 

bdorland@umd.edu

Melissa Douglas, Ex officio

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Rich Hawryluk

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

rhawryluk@pppl.gov

Mark Haynes

General Atomic

 

mark.haynes@ga.com

Thomas Kwan

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

tjtk@lanl.gov

Steve Obenschain

Naval Research Laboratory

 

steveo@this.nrl.navy.mil

Fred Skiff

University of Iowa

 

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

2004

Bill Dorland, Chair

University of Maryland

301-405-1608

bdorland@umd.edu

Jill Dahlburg, Exofficio

Naval Research Lab

202-767-1312

dahlburg@utopia.nrl.navy.mil

Daniel Dubin

University of California, San Diego

858-534-4174

ddubin@ucsd.edu

Jeff Colvin

LLNL

925-422-3273

colvin5@llnl.gov

Richard Hawryluk

PPPL

609-243-3306

rhawryluk@pppl.gov

Glen Wurden

LANL

505-667-5633

wurden@lanl.gov

2003

Bill Dorland, Chair

U. of Maryland

301-405-1608

bdorland@umd.edu

David Hammer,
Exofficio

Cornell U.

607-255-3916

dah5@cornell.edu

Daniel Dubin

UCSD

858-534-4174

dhdubin@ucsd.edu

Jeff Colvin

LLNL

925-422-3273

colvin5@llnl.gov

Richard Hawryluk

PPPL

609-243-2749

rhawryluk@pppl.gov

Glen Wurden

LANL

505-667-5633

wurden@lanl.gov