Governance

Nominating Committee 

The Nominating Committee prepares a slate of candidates for the elected positions of Vice-Chair, Councilor, Secretary/Treasurer, and Members-at-Large of the Executive Committee.

2021

Andris Dimits, Chair Lawrence Livermore National Lab dimits1@llnl.gov
Evdokiya Kostadinova, Vice Chair Baylor University eva_kostadinova@baylor.edu
Cami Collins General Atomics camicollins@gmail.com
Mike Murillo Michigan State University murillom@msu.edu
Barrett Rogers Dartmouth College barrett.rogers@dartmouth.edu

2020

Mingsheng Wei, Chair

University of Rochester

mingsheng@lle.rochester.edu

Andris Dimits, Vice Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

dimits1@llnl.gov

Evdokiya Kostadinova

Baylor University

eva_kostadinova@baylor.edu

Abdulgader Almagri

University of Wisconsin

aalmagri@wisc.edu

John Kline (appointed by APS)

Los Alamos National Laboratory

jkline@lanl.gov

2019

Tobin Munsat, Chair

University of Colorado

tobin.munsat@colorado.edu

Mingsheng Wei, Vice Chair

University of Rochester

mingsheng@lle.rochester.edu

Troy Carter

University of California, Los Angeles

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Abdulgader Almagri

University of Wisconsin

aalmagri@wisc.edu

Anne White (appointed by APS)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whitea@mit.edu

2018

Denise Hinkel, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Lab

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Tobin Munsat, Vice Chair

University of Colorado

tobin.munsat@colorado.edu

Troy Carter

University of California, Los Angeles

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Linda Vahala

Old Dominion University

lvahala@odu.edu

Mitchell Walker (appointed by APS)

Georgia Tech

mitchell.walker@ae.gatech.edu

2017

Siegfried Glenzer, Chair

Stanford University

glenzer@slac.stanford.edu

Denise Hinkel, Vice Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Lab

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Chris Hegna

University of Wisconsin

hegna@cae.wisc.edu

Linda Vahala (appointed by APS)

Old Dominion University

lvahala@odu.edu

Dennis Whyte

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whyte@psfc.mit.edu

2016

Hantao Ji, Chair Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory hji@pppl.gov
Siegfried Glenzer, Vice Chair Stanford U/Lawrence Livermore National Lab glenzer@slac.stanford.edu
Chris Hegna University of Wisconsin hegna@cae.wisc.edu
Jill Dahlburg (appointed by APS) Naval Research Laboratory jill.dahlburg@nrl.navy.mil
Dennis Whyte Massachusetts Institute of Technology whyte@psfc.mit.edu

2015

R. Paul Drake, Chair

University of Michigan

rpdrake@umich.edu

Hantao Ji, Vice Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

hji@pppl.gov

Edward Thomas

Auburn University

etjr@physics.auburn.edu

Denise Hinkel (appointed by APS)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Dennis Whyte

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whyte@psfc.mit.edu

2014

Robert Kaita, Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

kaita@pppl.gov

R. Paul Drake, Vice-Chair

University of Michigan

rpdrake@umich.edu

Edward Thomas

Auburn University

etjr@physics.auburn.edu

Linda Vahala (appointed by APS)

Old Dominion University

lvahala@odu.edu

François Waelbroeck

University of Texas

flw@mail.utexas.edu

2013

Robert Kirkwood, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Robert Kaita, Vice-Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

kaita@pppl.gov

Debra Callahan (appointed by APS)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

dcallahan@llnl.gov

François Waelbroeck

University of Texas

flw@mail.utexas.edu

Dennis Whyte

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whyte@psfc.mit.edu

2012

John Sarff, Chair

University of Wisconsin

ssarff@wisc.edu

Robert Kirkwood, Vice-Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Christine Coverdale (appointed by APS)

Sandia National Laboratories

cacover@sandia.gov

Igor Kaganovich

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

ikaganov@pppl.gov

Dennis Whyte

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whyte@psfc.mit.edu

2011

John Cary, Chair

University of Colorado

 

cary@colorado.edu

John Sarff, Vice-Chair

University of Wisconsin

jssarff@wisc.edu

Christina Back

General Atomics

backca@fusion.gat.com

Lee Berry (appointed by APS)

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

berryla@ornl.gov

Igor Kaganovich

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

ikaganov@pppl.gov

2010

Masayuki Ono, Chair

Princeton Plasma Phyiscs Laboratory

609-683-2105

mono@pppl.gov

John Cary, Vice-Chair

University of Colorado

cary@colorado.edu

Christina Back

General Atomics

backca@fusion.gat.com

Mark Kushner

University of Michigan

mjkush@umich.edu

Juan Fernandez (appointed by APS)

Los Alamos National Laboratory

juanc@lanl.gov

2009

David Meyerhofer, Chair

University of Rochester

858-455-3559

ddm@lle.rochester.edu

Masayuki Ono, Vice-Chair

Princeton Plasma Phyiscs Laboratory

mono@pppl.gov

Mark Kushner

University of Michigan

mjkush@umich.edu

Michael Mauel

Columbia University

mauel@columbia.edu

Linda Vahala (appointed by APS)

Old Dominion University

lvahala@odu.edu

2008

Tony Taylor, Chair

General Atomics

858-455-3559

taylor@fusion.gat.com

David Meyerhofer, Vice-Chair

University of Rochester

ddm@lle.rochester.edu

Mike Mauel

Columbia University

mauel@columbia.edu

Ron Gilgenbach

University of Michigan

rongilg@umich.edu

Gail Glendinning (appointed by APS)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

glendinning1@llnl.gov

2007

Clifford Surko, Chair

UCSD

858-534-6880

csurko@ucsd.edu

Tony Taylor, Vice Chair

General Atomics

taylor@fusion.gat.com

Cris Barnes

LANL

cbarnes@lanl.gov

Ron Gilgenbach

University of Michigan

rongilg@umich.edu

Denise Hinkel (appointed by APS)

LLNL

hinkel1@llnl.gov

2006

Don Batchelor, Chair

ORNL

423-574-1288

batchelordb@ornl.gov

Clifford Surko, Vice Chair

UCSD

csurko@ucsd.edu

Cris Barnes

LANL

cbarnes@lanl.gov

Stanley Kaye (appointed by APS)

PPPL

kaye@pppl.gov

David Schissel

General Atomics

schissel@fusion.gat.com

2005

Earl Marmar, Chair

MIT

617-253-5455

marmar@psfc.mit.edu

Don Batchelor, Vice Chair

ORNL

batchelordb@ornl.gov

Linda Sugiyama (appointed by APS)

MIT

sugiyama@psfc.mit.edu

David Schissel

General Atomics

schissel@fusion.gat.com

James Van Dam

University of Texas

vandam@physics.utexas.edu

2004

Martha Redi, Chair

PPPL

609-243-3357

redi@pppl.gov

Dan Dubin

University of California, San Diego

ddubin@ucsd.edu

Earl Marmar

MIT

marmar@psfc.mit.edu

Craig Olson

Sandia National Labs

clolson@sandia.gov

James Van Dam

University of Texas

vandam@physics.utexas.edu

2003

John Goree, Chair

U. of Iowa

319-335-1843

john-goree@uiowa.edu

Derek Boyd

U. of Maryland

 

db44@umail.umd.edu

Walter Gekelman

UCLA

 

gekelman@physics.ucla.edu

Craig Olson

Sandia Natl. Labs

 

clolson@sandia.gov

Martha Redi

PPPL

609-243-3357

redi@pppl.gov