Prizes & Awards

Distinguished Student Program (DS) 2024

Application Deadline: January 17, 2024

The APS recognizes that bringing outstanding young researchers to the annual APS meetings can be a career-changing experience.
Since 2015, the APS and Forum on International Physics (FIP) established the Distinguished Student Program (DS) to provide outstanding non-US young researchers with financial support to participate in the APS Meetings.

In 2024, the Forum of Early Career Scientists (FECS) is a partner of the DS program for the postdoctoral DS award.


Applicants must be:

  • Non-US citizen
  • Young researchers (Postdoctoral researchers, PhD or Master’s students) enrolled in the US or outside the US
  • Have submitted an abstract at the March or April Meeting 2024
  • Applicants must be both APS members and also be FIP members.

If you are not an APS member, visit the page See how to join the APS

PhD and Master’s students are eligible for one-year Free Trial Student APS Membership. After registering for APS membership, you can join FIP (membership is free).

Grant Amount: For in-person meeting

The DS travel award will cover the following costs for traveling, lodging and registration fees for attending the APS March or April in person meetings 2024:

  1. up to $2000 to assist young researchers enrolled in developing countries
  2. up to $500 to assist young researchers enrolled outside the US (excluding developing countries)
  3. up to $300 to assist young researchers enrolled in the US

The costs will be reimbursed to the awardees after participating in the meeting.

Grant Amount: For virtual meeting

The DS travel award will cover the costs of the registration fees for attending the APS March or April virtual meetings 2024.


Applications should include the following items:

  1. CV
  2. Motivation letter (1 page)
  3. At Least One Reference Letter
  4. Abstract submitted to the March or April APS Meeting 2024

The deadline is January 17, 2024.

Only complete applications will be considered.

Students awarded by the DS Program in the last five years are not eligible.

If you have any questions, email the DS Program Chair, Maria Longobardi.

These travel awards will be reimbursed to the awardees after the meetings.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2019 DS Award Recipients

APS March Meeting

  • Binaya Kumar Sahu – India - Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research
  • Garima Aggarwal – India - Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
  • Simon Batzner – Germany & Harvard University
  • Helena Drueeke – Germany - University of Rostock
  • Md Shafayat Hossain – Bangladesh & Princeton University
  • Felix Sebastian Kratz – Germany -Technical University of Dortmund
  • Indrajit Maity – India - Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
  • Hinako Murayama – Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Sofia Ferreira Teixeira – Portugal - University of Porto

APS April Meeting

  • Deniz Aybas - Turkey & Boston University
  • Meghna Bhattacharya – India - University of Mississippi
  • Alejandro Cardenas Avendano – Colombia & University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
  • Alemayehu Cherkos – Ethiopia - Addis Ababa University
  • Alberto Roper Pol – Spain & University of Colorado


If you have any questions, please contact Dr. Maria Longobardi.