News Viewer

2022 DBIO Prizes and Award Recipients

By Margaret S Cheung posted 10-21-2022 16:15

DBIO congratulates the recipients of this year’s Prizes and Awards!

The Max Delbrück Prize in Biological Physics recognizes and encourages outstanding achievement in biological physics research.

Arup K. Chakraborty received the prize “for the leading role in initiating the field of computational immunology, aimed at applying approaches from physical sciences and engineering to unravel the mechanistic underpinnings of the adaptive immune response to pathogens, and to harness this understanding to help design vaccines and therapy.” Chakraborty is a Professor of Chemical Engineering, Physics & Chemistry at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Biological Physics recognizes doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in any area of experimental, computational, engineering, or theoretical biological physics.

Jonathon Yuly received the award “for showing that a universal free energy landscape underpins near-reversible electron bifurcation reactions and assures their high efficiency for transducing energy without short-circuiting, thus addressing a central puzzle in molecular bioenergetics that had persisted for over 50 years.” Yuly is currently a Lewis-Sigler Scholar at the Lewis-Sigler Institute for Integrative Genomics at Princeton University.

The Early Career Award for Biological Physics Research recognizes outstanding and sustained contributions by an early-career researcher to biological physics.

Sujit Datta received the award “for creative experiments and insightful analyses of bacterial dynamics and organization, and for inspiring the community to engage with these complex systems.” Datta is an Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Princeton University.

APS Fellows nominated by DBIO have made outstanding contributions to the biological physics community through research, service, outreach, pedagogy, or mentoring.

Olga Dudko (University of California, San Diego) was elected “for using nonequilibrium statistical mechanics theory to model the response of biomolecules, macromolecular complexes, chromosomes, and viral envelopes to forces, thus providing a framework to identify and characterize biological processes from kinetics experiments.”

Thomas Gregor (Princeton University & Institut Pasteur) was elected “for the development of the fruit fly embryo as a physics laboratory, uncovering unexpected precision in the control of gene expression and the flow of information through genetic networks, illuminating the physics of fundamental cellular processes.”

Gregory J Stephens (VU Amsterdam & OIST Graduate University) was elected “for foundational contributions to the new field of the physics of animal behavior, and especially for understanding the statistical structure and the dynamics of behavior of a nematode, C. elegans.”

Roya Zandi (University of California, Riverside) was elected “for the application of fundamental theories of elasticity, electrostatics, and phase transitions to elucidate unique physical phenomena arising in viral capsid formation, notably the origin of icosahedral symmetry, the role of disclinations, and the branched topology of RNA genomes.”