In order to encourage students working in magnetism, every year GMAG sponsors Outstanding Dissertation in Magnetism Awards. GMAG will present up to three dissertation awards at the next APS March Meeting. These awards will recognize students who have conducted outstanding research leading to their dissertation and will consist of an invited talk in an appropriate session at the APS March Meeting, a $500 prize to the student, and up to $250 toward his/her travel expenses to the March Meeting. The student must be in the final year before graduating with a Ph.D., and both the student and the advisor must be current members of GMAG. The deadline for nominations for the 2024 Outstanding Dissertation in Magnetism Awards is August 18, 2023

Nominations should consist of: (i) A nominating letter, (ii) an extended abstract on the research (maximum of 3 pages, including figures and references), (iiii) the student’s CV and publication list, and (iv) contact information for the student. These nomination documents must be submitted by the student’s advisor or another senior researcher who knows the student’s work well. The nominating letter must address the following issues:

  • Quality and independence of the student’s work.
  • Student’s speaking ability.
  • Year the student began graduate school.
  • Student’s expected completion date (must be after September 1, 2023, but before September 1, 2024 to be eligible for the 2024 APS March Meeting award).
  • Assessment of the student’s future potential as a research scientist.

Nominations should be sent by email as a single PDF file to Clarina Dela Cruz by August 18, 2023. The subject line for the email should be "GMAG Student Dissertation Award." 

Evaluation of the nominations will be conducted by the GMAG Executive Committee. Conflict of interest situations will be handled in accordance with APS guidelines.

Congratulations to the winner of the 2022 Outstanding Dissertation in Magnetism Award who will be giving an invited talk at the 2023 March Meeting. The winner is:
Zhuoliang Ni, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Pennsylvania, "Ultrafast optics. Novel optical system design"

Congratulations to the winners of the 2021 Outstanding Dissertation in Magnetism Award who will be giving an invited talk at the 2022 March Meeting. The winners are:
Jiahao Han, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, "Harnessing Magnetic Switching and Dynamics Using Electron and Magnon Spin Currents"
Yiping Wang, Boston College, "Raman Measurement on Magnetic Collective Modes and Applications"
Valery Ortiz Jiménez, University of South Florida, "Light-Controlled Magnetism in Two-Dimensional Vanadium Dichalcogenides and Related Semiconductors"

Congratulations also to the 2020 Outstanding Dissertation in Magnetism Award winner. The winner will also be giving an invited talk at the 2022 March meeting. The winner is:
Mitchell Bordelon, University of California, Santa Barbara, "Magnetic Frustration and Quantum Disorder in Jeff = ½ Lanthanide-Based AlnX2 Materials"