Prizes & Awards

APS DBIO Travel Awards


The DBIO Travel Award program welcomes applications from DBIO members at all early career stages, including undergraduate students, graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, and faculty members. The award amount is limited to $400 per awardee. This award is intended to support travel to the upcoming APS March Meeting.


Eligible applicants:

  1. must be an APS DBIO member* 

  2. must be a first or corresponding author or presenter of a talk or poster in sessions sponsored by DBIO

  3. cannot be a former recipient of this award

*Newcomers to DBIO can sign up and are encouraged to do so before the application deadline for verification purposes.

Evaluation Criteria:

Applications will be evaluated based on merit, with specific attention to applicants with strong financial needs or from underrepresented and historically marginalized groups.

Applications will be evaluated in each sub-category to ensure equitable considerations. For example, an application from a graduate student will be evaluated against other graduate student applications. 

Applications from students or postdoc will require a letter of support from the research advisors. Applicants are encouraged to start the application process early to allow enough time for the advisor's letter to be received before the submission deadline.

Beside a description of the applicant's research achievements, the advisor letter of support must state (i) the applicant is in good standing as a student or postdoc, (ii) an estimate of graduation date for students, (iii) clear justification for financial support, and (iv) statement of why the applicant should receive travel support. If an advisor has multiple mentees applying in the same year, additional information regarding the relative strength of each application should be provided.


All applications must be received through the online application websiteThe deadline to apply is October 20, 2023.

The award recipients will be announced at the time of abstract placement notifications.

For additional information, please feel free to contact the chair of the DBIO Travel Awards committee, Rana Ashkar (

List of Past Awardees

2024 Awardees

  • Ganga Sharma (faculty, Fairmont State University)
  • Sassan Ostvar (postdoc, Columbia University)
  • Anna Argento (graduate student, University of Michigan)
  • Revi Brown (graduate student, Wesleyan University)
  • Subhaya Bose (graduate student, University of California Merced)
  • William Cortes (graduate student, Johns Hopkins University)
  • Charles Edelson (graduate student, Indiana University)
  • Abhinav Kumar (graduate student, University of California)
  • Rawan Nowier (graduate student, Ohio University)
  • Mathew Ogieva (graduate student, Cleveland State University)
  • Shivang Rawat (graduate student, New York University)
  • Gao (Zachary) Sun (graduate student, Yale University)
  • Hailey Currie (undergraduate student, University of Texas at Austin)
  • Alana Hartsell-White (undergraduate student, University of California Santa Barbara)
  • Nora Wagner (undergraduate student, St. Lawrence University)

2023 Awardees

  • Helen Ansell (postdoc, Northwestern University)
  • Atreya Dey (graduate student, University of Texas Austin)
  • Louis Gonzales (graduate student, University of Pittsburgh)
  • Sebastian Gonzales La Corte (graduate student, Princeton)
  • Arthur Hernandez (graduate student, University of California Santa Barbara)
  • Euan Joly-Smith (graduate student, University of Toronto)
  • Gülce Kardes (graduate student, University of Colorado Boulder)
  • Zoë Lange (graduate student, Goethe University)
  • Daniel Swartz (graduate student, MIT)
  • Nganfo Willy Aniset (graduate student, University of Dschang)
  • Emmy Blumenthal (undergraduate student, Boston University)
  • Alexander Clark (undergraduate student, University of California Riverside)
  • Ashley Martinez (undergraduate student, North Arizona University)

2022 Awardees

  • Renita Saldanha (Syracuse)
  • Lesia Guinn (Stony Brook)
  • Setareh Panah Sharifi (Potsdam)
  • Shikai Jin (Rice)
  • Chuqiao Huyan (Boston U.)
  • Andrew Goetz (U. Florida)
  • Pancy Lwin (Rochester Institute of Technology)
  • Shane Fiorenza (U. Colorado) 
  • Hungtang Ko (Georgia Tech)
  • Farita Tasnim (MIT) 
  • Natalya Watson (Concordia) 
  • Zhiru Liu (Stanford) 
  • Henrik Weyer (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München)
  • Jimmy Gonzalez Nunez (UC Merced) 

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.