News Viewer

The Virtual AMO Seminar (VAMOS) is Back!

By Charles W S Conover posted 09-06-2021 16:26

  

Friends and colleagues,

We are happy to inform you that after a refreshing summer break, VAMOS is coming back! The first seminar of the new season will take place on Friday, September 10th at the usual time of 3:00 PM Eastern, 2:00 PM Central, 1:00 PM Mountain, and Noon Pacific, and will be given by Bill Phillips of NIST/University of Maryland.

While the format of the past year and a half will mostly remain unchanged, VAMOS will move to a schedule of seminars every two weeks.  As before up-to-date schedule information as well as a link to register for the Zoom webinar and get the link is available at the VAMOS website.   You can attend the seminars live on Zoom or watch live or asynchronously later on the VAMOS YouTube channel.   The leadership committee would be happy if you would nominate a speaker for the series.


Starting this year there is a new VAMOS leadership committee:

Adam Kaufman, Shimon Kolkowitz, Lindsay LeBlanc, Michael Chini, Elizabeth Goldschmidt, Kaden Hazzard, Lindsay LeBlanc, Jonathan Weinstein, and Norman Yao.

This committee would especially like to thank the previous members of the VAMOS Board for their service and continued help and support! 

September 10, 2021 seminar:  

Bill Phillips, NIST/University of Maryland 

The Quantum Reform of the International System of Units

Abstract: 

The International System of Units (SI), the modern metric system, has recently undergone its most revolutionary change since the beginning of the metric system during the French Revolution.  The nature of this revolution is that all of the base units of the SI are now defined by fixing values of natural constants.  The realization of the units is now, both philosophically and practically, strongly quantum and specifically connected to AMO.  This talk will describe why this reform was needed and how it is done.

0 comments
7 views

Permalink