Robert S. Hyer Research Award

Fall 2018 Recipients

Undergraduate Level

The 2018 Robert S. Hyer Graduate Research Award of the TSAPS was awarded to Sophia Andaloro of the University of Dallas. Advisor: Surendra Singh, University of Arkansas

“for their work on Fraunhofer Diffraction of Laguerre-Gaussian Vortex Beams”

Graduate Level

The 2018 Robert S. Hyer Graduate Research Award of the TSAPS was awarded to Luis de Jesus of Texas A&M University. Advisor: Sarbajit Banerjee, University of Texas A&M University

“for their work on the origins of diffusion barriers in intercalation hosts and for the development of X-ray microscopy as a probe of electronic structure inhomogeneities.”

Undergraduate Posters

Marielle Gaspar, University of Texas at San Antonio
“Machine Learning Model to Predict Failure Modes of TRISO Particles under High-Temperature Gas-Cooled Reactor Accident Conditions”

Ethan McGee, Texas Tech University
“Simultaneous Photometry: Vetting Exoplanets via the Transit Method”

Graduate Posters

Ram Neupane, University of Houston
“Enhanced Visible Light Activity in Titania Nanotube Based Heterojunction Photocatalysts for Solar Fuel Generation”

Hawra Alghasham, Texas Tech University
“Scanning Diffracted-Light images”

Undergraduate Talks

Deboar Mroczek, University of Houston
“Data Compression and Machine Learning for Quantum States”

Harsh Arya, University of Texas at Arlington
“A new design of an electrostatic quadrupole quadruplet focusing lens system for low MeV multi-ion micro-beam”

Boting Wang, Southern Methodist University
“Visualizing the sensitivity of hadronic experiments to nucleon structure”

Jiao An, University of Texas at Arlington
“First-principle Study of the TiO2 Single-walled Nanotubes for Photocatalysis”

Graduate Talks

Melia Bonomo, Rice University
“The pepitope Model Quantifies a Novel Antigenic Distance to Predict Influenza Vaccine Effectiveness”

Timothy Burt, University of Houston
“Size and topology modulate the effects of frustration in protein folding”

Ziping Ye, University of Houston
“Detect Supernova Neutrinos with DarkSide-20k Liquid Argon Time Projection Chamber

James Liman, Rice University
“The role of actin filament brancher Arp2/3 in the dynamics and structures of actomyosin networks”

Past Recipients 

2019 2014 2010
2018 2013 2009
2017 2012 2008
2015 2011 2007

The nature of the Hyer Awards was changed in 2021.