Archived Newsletters

Fall 2014 Newsletter

Steven S Rosenblum, Editor

View the Full Newsletter

In This Issue

FIAP Focus: Planning for the future of Industrial Physics

  • Workshop on National Issues in Industrial Physics by John Rumble
    The Workshop on National Issues in Industrial Physics, jointly sponsored by APS and FIAP, will occur on October 6-7, 2014 in St. Michaels MD. APS and FIAP believe it is timely to explore the issues facing industrial physics within the United States to identify those issues that challenge U.S. industrial leadership in using physics as a key driver for success.
  • FIAP Strategic Plan 2014-2017 by John Rumble
    FIAP has put together a new strategic plan focused on better serving its members, better serving the industrial and applied physics community, helping industrial and applied physicists better serve society, and increasing FIAP organization excellence.

Supporting Early Career Physicists at the APS March Meeting by Crystal Bailey
FIAP and the APS are committed to advancing the careers of young physicists. The March Meeting represents an ideal platform for bringing those early in their careers together with more experienced industrial physicists. Activities at the meeting such as “Lunch with the Experts,” career workshops, and jobs expo are now supplemented with APS Local Links — locally focused networking groups that meet more frequently.

Announcements & Meetings

  • Nominations for Distinguished Lectureship Award on the Applications of Physics by Crystal Bailey
    Nominations for the 2015 Distinguished Lectureship term will close on September 30, 2014.
  • Easier access to APS publications by Steven Lambert
    The APS is making it easier for to get journal articles. All US public libraries can access any APS article for free, and individuals can purchase articles for a nominal fee.

Pake Prize
Start planning now! Nominations for next year’s Pake Prize recognizing and encouraging outstanding physics and industrial physics leadership will open soon. Check the George E. Pake Prize page for details.

Contributors: Crystal Bailey, Steven Lambert, John Rumble
Editorial board: Robert Celotta, Alex Demkov, Carlos Gutierrez, Ernesto Marinero
Editor in chief: Steven S Rosenblum