Past Meetings

61st Annual Meeting APS DFD Invited Talks

2008 Fluid Dynamics Prize (Otto Laporte Lecture)

Julio M. OttinoSession C1.00002: The Art of Mixing with an Admixture of Art: Fluids, Solids, and Visual Imagination
Julio M. Ottino, Northwestern University

2008 Francois Frenkiel Award

Jonathan B. Freund

Session O1.00001: Leukocyte Margination in a Model Microvessel
Jonathan B. Freund, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

2008 Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award

John TaylorSession O2.00001: Numerical Simulations of the Stratified Oceanic Bottom Boundary Layer
John Taylor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Invited Speakers

Stephan Fauve

Session D1.00001: Magnetic field reversals in turbulent dynamos
Stèphan Fauve, Ecole Normale Superieure

Patrick Tabeling

Session D2.00001: Slip, droplets, complex fluids and other small things investigated with microfluidic technology
Patrick Tabeling, ESPCI

Harindra J. FernandoSession J2.00001: Fluid Mechanics of Urban Environments
Harindra J. Fernando, University of Arizona

Alec Gallimore

Session K2.00001: The Physics of Spacecraft Hall-Effect Thrusters
Alec Gallimore, University of Michigan

Elaine S. Oran

Session N1.00001: Dynamics of the LTD Transition
Elaine S. Oran, US Naval Research Laboratory