Prizes & Awards

Faddeev Medal

Vitaly Efimov and Rudolf Grimm Win Inaugural Faddeev Medal

The Faddeev medal was inaugurated in 2016 by the Topical Group on Few-Body Systems & Multiparticle Dynamics (GFB) of the American Physical Society and the European Research Committee on Few-Body Problems in Physics (ERCFBP) to recognize distinguished achievement in Few-Body Physics. It is named in honor of our distinguished colleague Ludwig Faddeev. The medal is awarded every three years to a scientist (or scientists) who advanced the field of few-body physics significantly — either through ground-breaking research or due to crucial progress achieved over the course of a career.

An international panel of experts, chaired by G. Orlandini (Trento), has selected the winners of the 2018 award. They are:

  • Vitaly Efimov: “For the theoretical discovery of a series of weakly-bound three-body quantum states known as Efimov states.
  • Rudolf Grimm: “In recognition of his ground-breaking experiments confirming the Efimov effect.”

The prize consists of US $1,250 for each of the winners, a medal, and an invitation to the 22nd International Conference on Few-body Problems in Physics in Caen, France, next July, to participate in a special session there, devoted to the presentation of the medals. For more details on FB22, please see the conference website.

Faddeev Medal is awarded jointly by GFB and ERCFBP.

More Information

GFB Travel Grants

Application Deadline: January 31, 2020

The GFB travel grant application deadline for the “April Meeting 2020” and “DAMOP Meeting 2020” is Friday, January 31, 2020.

View Travel Grant 2020 Information

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.