Prizes & Awards

DPF Mentoring Award

The Division of Particles and Fields of the American Physical Society has established an award to honor exceptional mentoring, broadly defined, to be bestowed annually.

This APS Unit Award is intended to recognize DPF members who have had an exceptional impact as mentors of particle physics scientists and students. This mentoring could be through teaching or research or science-related activities and is meant to recognize current achievements as well as those spanning a career.

Examples of contributions honored by this award include:

  • Exceptional mentoring of early career particle physicists;
  • Sustained commitment to mentoring early career particle physicists from traditionally under-represented backgrounds;
  • A leadership role in developing early career research and career development activities.

The award consists of a certificate indicating the citation chosen by the selection committee, to be awarded at the next DPF Meeting. DPF will reimburse reasonable travel expenses for travel to the award ceremony.

APS Division of Particles and Fields Mentorship Award 2021

Awarded to Rafael Lang, Purdue University, for his outstanding commitment to mentoring the next generation of scientists, particularly through the development of an exemplary undergraduate research program that has opened the door to dark matter research to hundreds of students; for his mentorship of postdocs and graduate students; and for his far reaching and impactful public engagement activities.

Award Committee: Pearl Sandick (Chair), Tim M.P. Tait (Chair Elect), Tesla Jeltema, Josh Klein, Konstantin Matchev

Previous Recipients

2020 Tesla Jeltema, UC Santa Cruz
“For her dedication to mentoring young physicists through hands-on, heartfelt, and effective engagement, and in applying this broadly, to many students at all levels and through many programs, making particle physics an inclusive and productive environment for everyone.”
Award Committee: Bonnie Fleming (Chair), Mirjam Cvetic, Ken Heller, Pearl Sandick, Tim Tait

2019 Tim M.P. Tait, UC Irvine
“For his successful and inclusive mentoring of many young particle physicists, including undergraduate students, graduate students, postdoctoral researchers and junior faculty. His tireless efforts as a mentor, role model, and supporter of diversity have left an indelible mark on the particle physics community.”
Award Committee: Mirjam Cvetic (Chair), Bonnie Fleming, Karsten Heeger, Ken Heller, Pearl Sandick

2018 Bonnie Fleming, Yale University
“For her dedication to mentoring the next generation of experimentalists, providing opportunities and support for each to excel in their own way, tirelessly supporting diversity, developing new outreach initiatives, and showing by example how to be a physicist, colleague, and collaborator.”
Award Committee: James Alexander, Cornell (Chair), Mirjam Cvetic, U. Pennsylvania (Vice Chair), Karsten Heeger, Yale U., Robin Erbacher, U.C. Davis, Roni Harnik, Fermilab

2017 Thomas Devlin, Rutgers University
“For his tremendous dedication to a broad community of students and postdocs, and for his early and unwavering support of gender diversity in physics. His leadership by example, in studying new ideas, accepting all questions, and creating an inclusive environment where young scientists could bond with and learn from senior scientists and from each other has shaped the careers of many current leaders in experimental particle physics.”
Award Committee: Robin Erbacher (Chair), James Alexander (Vice Chair), Howie Haber, Louise Suter, Howard Georgi (previous recipient)

2016 - Howard Georgi, Harvard University
“For his unique dedication to mentoring and supporting a large and diverse community of students and post doctoral fellows, whose creative theoretical endeavors have had an enormous impact on particle physics as well as the larger scientific community.”
Award Committee: Laura Reina (Chair), Robin Erbacher (Vice Chair), Howie Haber, Louise Suter, Heidi Schellman (previous recipient)

2015 - Heidi Schellman
“For three decades of exceptional mentoring of students and colleagues throughout their careers, providing guidance regardless of affiliation, serving as a role model, and establishing a culture of service to others.”
Award Committee: Robert Bernstein (Chair), Laura Reina (Vice Chair), Benjamin Hooberman, Kendall Mahn, Sally Seidel

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.