Prizes & Awards

Student Speaker Award

Each year GSNP offers a Student Speaker Award for best-contributed talk at the March meeting by a graduate student in the area of Statistical and Nonlinear Physics.

Students must be nominated by their dissertation advisor. Each nomination must include:

  • A letter from the nominator (normally the student's dissertation advisor)
  • Abstract of the student's talk (copy of the abstract already submitted to APS)
  • Student's CV or resume

Submit a Nomination

Nominations for the 2022 March meeting must be submitted by Thursday, November 11, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. ET.

*The abstract of the talk must also have been submitted to the March Meeting as a regular contributed talk

Up to five finalists will be selected. Each finalist will present their talk twice at the March Meeting: once in its regular session and once in a special session. Up to $500 travel funding will be provided to chosen finalists presenting their talk in person.

The first-place winner will receive an additional $500 award. Prizes will be announced at the GSNP Business meeting.

Student Abstract

Past Winners and Finalists


  • Arif Abdulla (UIUC)
  • Daniel Case (Northwestern)
  • Adarsh Ganesan (Cambridge)
  • Erin Teich (Michigan)

Winner: Christopher Lynn (UPenn)


  • Lisa Tran (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Jie Zhang (UIUC)
  • Meng Fang (Yale)
  • Chrisy Du (U. Mich)
  • Grant Rotskoff (UC Berkeley)
Winner: Chrisy Du (U. Mich)


  • Stephen DeCamp, Brandeis University
  • Zachary Nicalaou, California Institute of Technology
  • Melinda Varga, University of Notre Dame
  • Yang Yang, Northwestern University
  • Jorge Zanudo, Pennsylvania State University

Winner: Yang Yang, Northwestern University


  • Hatem Nuri Barghathi, Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • Thibault Bertrand, Yale University
  • David Meichle, University of Maryland
  • Gabriel Redner, Brandeis University
  • Eial Teomy, Tel Aviv University
Winner: Gabriel Redner, Brandeis University


  • Diana Fusco, Duke University
  • Mohammad Khalid Jawed, MIT
  • Alex Lang, Boston University
  • Sumantra Sarkar, Brandeis University
  • Jesse Silverberg, Cornell University
Winner: Mohammad Khalid Jawed, MIT


  • Yongjoo Baek, KAIST
  • Braden Brinkman, University of Illinois
  • Lei Dai, MIT
  • Somayeh Farhadi, Duke University
  • Dibyendu Mandal, University of Maryland
Winner: Dibyendu Mandal, University of Maryland


  • Shiladitya Banerjee, Syracuse University
  • Bryan Chen, Pennsylvania State University
  • Gary Hunter, Emory University
  • Benjamin Machta, Cornell
  • Jie Ren, Duke University
Winner: Gary Hunter, Emory University


  • Zhenyu Wang, University of Illinois
  • Anton Souslov, University of Pennsylvania)
  • Tao Jia, Virginia Tech
  • Nick Gravish, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Sahand Hormoz, Harvard University
Winner: Sahand Hormoz, Harvard University


  • Elisabetta Matsumoto, University of Pennsylvania
  • Jessica Baker, Clark
  • Lucy Jane Colwell, Harvard University
  • Oren Elrad, Brandeis University
  • Georgios Tsekenis, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Winner: Elisabetta Matsumoto, University of Pennsylvania


  • Natalie Arkus, Harvard University
  • Kipton Barros, Boston University
  • Tom Haxton, University of Pennsylvania
  • Jordan Horowitzm, University of Maryland
  • Mya Warren, University of British Columbia

Winner: Kipton Barros, Boston University


Five student finalists were selected to give their talk at the GSNP Student Award session (Session H39 at the 2008 March APS meeting).

  • Sharon Gerbode, Cornell University
  • Luca Giomi, Syracuse University
  • Carl Modes, University of Pennsylvania
  • Andrew Missel, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Matthew Paoletti, University of Maryland
Winner: Matthew Paoletti, University of Maryland. Matthew received a $1,000 cash award. The rest will receive $200 each.


  • Cesar Hidalgo, University of Notre Dame
  • Robert Hoy, Johns Hopkins University
  • Silke Henkes, Brandeis University
  • Santiago Andres Triana, University of Maryland
  • Kevin Wood, University of California, San Diego

Winner: Creighton Thomas, Syracuse University

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.