Prizes & Awards

Postdoctoral Speaker Award Nominations

GSNP invites nominations for the GSNP Postdoctoral Speaker Award. This award seeks to recognize the best contributed talk at the APS March Meeting by a postdoctoral researcher in the area of Statistical and Nonlinear Physics.

Up to five finalists will be selected. Up to 500 dollar travel funding will be provided to chosen finalists presenting their talk in person. The first-place winner will receive an additional 500 dollar award. Prizes will be announced at the GSNP Business meeting.

Nominations for the 2024 March Meeting are due October 20th, 2023

Candidates must be nominated by a senior researcher, such as a mentor, former advisor, or collaborator.

Each nomination must include:

  • A letter from the nominator commenting on the presentation skills of the candidate and the significance of the work in the area of statistical and nonlinear physics

  • Abstract of the candidate's talk, which should be a verbatim copy of the abstract submitted as a contributed talk to the APS March Meeting.

  • Candidate's curriculum vitae.

Eligible candidates must:  

  1. be a GSNP member

  2. be holding a non-tenure track position at the time of the meeting

  3. have received their Ph.D. degrees no more than 5 years prior to the March Meeting

  4. submit their abstract for the March Meeting in one of the GSNP sessions (see dropdown in the nomination form) and give an oral presentation in person at the meeting

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Submit your nomination for the Postdoctoral Speaker Award

If you have questions please contact Daphne Klotsa ( GSNP - Secretary treasurer.

Past Winners and Finalists


  • Swapnil Baral (NIST)
  • Jannik Ehrich (Simon Fraser University)
  • Yian Yin (Northwestern University)
  • Yuanzhao Zhang (Santa Fe Institute)

Winner: Jeremy A. Owen (Princeton) 


  • Armand Boroman (Yale)
  • Benjamin Loewe (Syracuse)
  • Sheng Mao (Princeton)
  • Dan Sussman (Syracuse)
Winner: Vikram Rathee (Georgetown)


  • Dibyendu Mandal (UC Berkley)
  • Oren Raz (U. Maryland)
  • Matthias Merkel (Syracuse)
  • Casey Bester (Duke)
  • Edward Bannigan (Northwestern)
Winner: Matthias Merkel (Syracuse)


Please contact Daphne Klotsa, Secretary/Treasurer, GSNP.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.