News Viewer

SCCM 2022 Abstract Submission Open

By J Matthew D Lane posted 01-24-2022 14:23

CALL FOR ABSTRACTS: July 11 – 15, 2022 at the Anaheim Marriott
Conference Website:

Please distribute this call, as appropriate.

The 22nd Biennial APS Shock Compression of Condensed Matter Conference will be held in Anaheim, CA on July 11-15, 2022 at the Anaheim Marriott. We are planning an in-person meeting and are currently researching a hybrid option. Additional details will be provided as soon as we have them.
Abstract submission and hotel reservations are currently open! Abstract submissions close March 4, 2022 and can be submitted here:

Hotel reservations are open until June 17, 2022. Reservations are available at GSA per diem rate. If you’re planning to attend, please make your reservations early and use this link:
It is very important to make reservations through the conference link to ensure we make our room block commitment.
Calendar of Events
January 24, 2022 – Abstract Submission Open
March 11, 2022 – Abstract Submission Closes  (EXTENDED)
March 21, 2022 – Online Registration Opens
March 24, 2022 – Sorters Meeting
TBD – Early Bird Registration Ends
June 17, 2022 – Hotel Reservation Closes

The scientific program will run from Monday morning until Friday at noon. We will host an opening reception on Sunday night and a conference banquet on Thursday night. A Diversity Lunch is scheduled for Monday lunchtime. The poster session and reception will be held Tuesday evening. The SCCM Topical Group Business Meeting will be held Wednesday at lunchtime.

SCCM 2022 Conference Co-Chairs:
Arianna Gleason, Stanford University
Jennifer Jordan, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Early Career Symposium Chair (July 10, 2022): Svjetlana Stekovic Belinda Pacheco
Conference Proceedings Chairs: Mike Armstrong, Tim Germann, and Matt Lane

The technical focus areas and technical committee members for the conference are:
* Advances in Experimental Techniques and Diagnostics: Dan Dolan (SNL), Dana Duke (LANL), Marylesa Howard (NNSS)
* Advancing Dynamic Temperature Measurements: John Lang (LANL), Kanani Lee (LLNL), Terry Meyers (Purdue), Emma Floyd (AWE)
* Data Driven Modeling and Simulation: Christine Sweeney (LANL), Qian Yang (UConn), Igor Schwiegert (NRL)
* Detonation and Shock Induced Chemistry: Scott Jackson (TAMU), Caroline Handley (AWE), Katie Brown (Navy)
* Energetic and Reactive Materials: Anne Haslam (Navy), Chris Crouse (AFRL), Virginia Manner (LANL)
* Equations of State: Brian Jensen (LANL), Nenad Velisavljevic (LLNL), Patricia Kalita (SNL)
* First-Principles and Molecular Dynamics: Evan Reed (Stanford), Rebecca Lindsey (LLNL), Katie Maerzke (LANL)
* Geophysics and Planetary Sciences: Paul Asimow (CalTech), Jamie Kimberley (New Mexico Tech), Sally Tracy (Carnegie)
* Grain-Scale to Continuum Modeling: Jon Belof (LLNL), Marisol Koslowski (Purdue), DJ Luscher (LANL)
* High Energy Density Physics/Warm Dense Matter: Pierre Gourdain (Rochester), Alexey Arefiev (UCSD)
* Material Properties Bridging Across Strain Rates : Zsolt Jenei (LLNL), Blake Sturtevant (LANL), Leslie Lamberson (Colorado School of Mines)
* Materials Science: Ellen Cerreta (LANL), Danae, Polsin (Rochester), Michael Winey (WSU)
* Multi-Scale Modeling and Experiments: Aniban Mandal (LANL), Lara Leininger (LLNL), Min Zhou (Georgia Tech)
* Particle Doppler Velocimetry and Related Diagnostics: Patrick Younk (LANL)
* Particulate, Composite, and Manufactured Materials: Christopher Neel (AFRL), Alex Mueller (LANL), and Greg Kennedy (Georgia Tech)
* Phase Transitions and Kinetics: Rachel Huber (LANL), Chris Wehrenberg (LLNL), and Andy Krygier (LLNL)
* Soft Matter: David Williamson (Cambridge), Eric Brown (LANL), and Nadia Baholouli (Strasbourg)
* Spall, Ejecta, and Ballistics: Robin Williams (AWE), Olivier Durand (CEA), and David Jones (LANL)